The book Reapers by Mark C. King (Spoiler Free Review) and Author Interview

Author Interview, Book Review, Favorite Readings

Howdy! How have you been?! Well I’ve been sick, but it doesn’t affect me to write a new review. This one is very special because the author sent me a copy in an exchange for an honest review aaaand he decided to answer a few questions for the blog, so YAY! Let’s begin then. 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Naomi Gladwyn is an awkward girl, who is uncomfortable in crowds, has more self-doubt than confidence, and would much rather sit quietly reading than attend the most lavish of celebrations. She is also aware of a frightening secret known only to a relative few – some books are very dangerous.

My opinion:

Since I started reading The book Reapers I felt an inmediate connection with the main character, Naomi. We all have experience the loss of a loved one, the feeling that we’re not worthy and not deserve kindness. Although, through all the story, someone keeps showing mercy and that feeling of protection we all need to feel, which made me think: “well, even when I can’t realize how valuable I am, there’s always a special one that will love me for who I am, leaving my past behind. It is good that someone makes you acknowledge that fact.

Then we have the story setting. I have to say It reminded me a lot of Sherlock Holmes and all that Victorian ambiance behind it was just incredible. The plot is captivating since the beginning until the end so I found myself unable to put it down. The cover art of the book is also stunning, and it attracted my attention at the moment I saw it.

I have to say this has been one of my 2017’s faves for the reasons above and more you will discover by reading it.

Author Interview.

1. What books have most influenced your life?

In a serious way, the Bible has been the biggest influence in my life. In a less serious way, I would say that Mysterious Island (Jules Verne) and the Sherlock Holmes stories (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) have really been influential to me. Mysterious Island, and most every story by Verne, helped grow my love of reading. Sherlock Holmes is not only incredibly enjoyable, but has given me a love of the location and time period. All my books (4 of them) have been set primarily around London in the Victorian era. 

2. Tell us about the protagonist, Naomi, was there a real life inspiration behind her?

Naomi is my wife’s name. I had included the names of some of my friends in my books, but wanted a really good character for her. The Book Reapers provided that. However, the Naomi of the story is really a combination of people. There there some things about the the fictional character that match my wife. There are some things that match me. However, a huge influence for the character was Bookstagram (collection of book lovers on instagram). Many of them are self-proclaimed book loving introverts and I wanted to capture that in my story.

3. Have you ever read a “Dark Book”?

I have had some people ask me this question and the answer is no. Dark Books are complete fiction (thank goodness). The origin of the idea however, is quite interesting. It primarily came from the movie Jaws (yep, the shark movie). It struck me that the movie was so tense, even if the shark was not there. Basically  anytime there was a scene with the ocean, you cringe (and being that the movie takes place at a seaside town, the ocean is in a lot of the movie). I wanted to take the concept of taking a normal/common thing and making it ominous. Hence, books resting on a shelf could be Dark Books.

4. Did you learn anything from writing this book?

This was my first story in the first-person perspective. This approach had me thinking in a very different way than a third-person account. Not only is the viewpoint different, but the way the story develops is very different. Anything you want the reader to know has to be known by the character as well. I found it a bit difficult but fun at the same time.

5. What are your future projects?

I am currently working on a sequel to The Book Reapers. Naomi Gladwyn’s tale is not done yet (I’m roughly 20% done with the first draft). Beyond that, I have an idea for a Victorian adventure that I am looking forward to working on.
You learn more about Mark C. King on his goodreads Author page here
IMG_20170819_105028_166[1]
Quotes:
“I slowly turned in a circle to take in all the books, all the unknown stories that surrounded me. I felt a kind of literary warmth, as if the books radiated a special heat known only to those who appreciated the written word”. 
“Is not that I do not like people, but in most instances, I preferred quiet and solitude. While some people garner energy from association, I need to be alone to rejuvenate mine”.
“Everyone has the right to try and choose better for themselves”.
“For writing can be considered an art, a release of creativity, like playing music or painting pictures, and only some people find it to be a satisfying way to express themselves”.

 

You underestimate the trials of life. It takes strength and courage to face the daily pressures that this world throws at us and to still come out with a sense of hope. So many individuals resign themselves to unhappiness; but not you. You rose above the relentless pull -the gravity, if you will- of this world.

“Our paths may go in unexpected, and even unsure ways, but with a little focus, our goals can be reached”.

“You will never regret fighting for the future you want”.

Rating:

4.5/5 ★

That was all from me peeps! Thanks for reading ❤

signature_kdak4z7oitvhzicdgx

4 thoughts on “The book Reapers by Mark C. King (Spoiler Free Review) and Author Interview

Leave a Reply

