Goodreads Synopsis:

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart–he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm, she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season’s first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning, the snow child is gone–but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This little girl, who calls herself Faina, seems to be a child of the woods. She hunts with a red fox at her side, skims lightly across the snow, and somehow survives alone in the Alaskan wilderness. As Jack and Mabel struggle to understand this child who could have stepped from the pages of a fairy tale, they come to love her as their own daughter. But in this beautiful, violent place things are rarely as they appear, and what they eventually learn about Faina will transform all of them.

My Opinion:

When I saw this book for the first time I knew I had to read something by someone called Eowyn. What caught my attention was the cover, I was intrigued by this little girl hiding behind a tree and when I read the synopsis on goodreads I said “I have to read it”.

What I liked about this story is how the characters were so family oriented, their capacity to survive to extreme circumstances, the love between Jack, Mabel and Faina, although she was different and had strange habits. I also enjoyed how Mabel and Esther, her neighbour, developed a very beutiful friendship, no matter if their personalities were so contrary. Mabel was calmed and sweet and delicate, Esther in other hand, was so noisy and had a manly behavior. That proves the most beautiful thing about love and friendship is our capacity to accept and love our differences no matter what.

Ok, this is my less favorite part of this review, because although I found positive points in this story, I found it unbearably sloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow. Yep. I mean it is a beautiful story, and the characters as well were beautiful and warming and human and and and… SLOW. I want to say that I enjoyed this book, but I would be lying, I just wanted to give up, don’t finish it, but I knew I had to write a review about it on this site. And I don’t like to stop my readings just like that, I needed answers so I had to reach the ending. But never found those answers, or perhaps I didn’t understand, I don’t know, it’s just, I feel there were no plot, just a very paaaaaaused story about two farmers and their homestead in Alaska.

God knows I wanted to love this story, but I couldn’t and now I  feel guilty about that.

Anyway I’m listening epic music right know and I’ll re-read The lord of the rings in this lazy sunday because why not?!

Quotes:

“You did not have to understand miracles to belive in them”.

“In my old age, I see that life itself is often more fantastic and terrible than the stories we belive as children, and that perhaps there is no harm in finding magic among the trees”.

“We never know what is going to happen, do we? Life is always throwing us this way and that. That’s were the adventure is. Not knowing where you’ll end up or how you’ll fare. It’s all a mystery, and when we say any different, we’re just lying to ourselves”.

Rating:

2/5★

IMG_20170113_095200_141.jpg

