Awwwww the feels! This book made me weep like a child and I’ll tell you why right now. But first let’s know what this book is about 😉

Goodreads Synopsis:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

My Opinion:

There is to much to say about this book and don’t know how to start. This is my first book from Patrick Ness, and what can I say? I’m speechless.

It made me think about how to deal with grief, not only in childs, but also adult people. I lost my father last year and as Connor, I felt guilty, I felt angry, impotent. Those are feelings we all experiment when we pass through something like losing a love one. But it’s ok to feel it. We just have to find the way to let go. And in this book, with a very special way, Ness tries to tell how to let go. How to deal with it.

A monster Calls was my first reading of the year and I’m not dissapointent. It has become one of my faves from 2017, just starting the year! I cried, I wept, I smiled. I’ve learned how to let go. I don’t know what else to say because I’ll start crying again so here’s the rating.

Quotes:

“How do you fight all the different stuff inside? By speaking the truth, the monster said. As you spoke it just know”.

“You do not write your life with words, the monster said. You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do”.

Rating:

5/5★

PS. This wasn’t a proper book review, so let’s say it was about how reading this book made me feel.

IMG_20170105_171247_869.jpg

