Goodreads Synopsis:


“Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself. . . . ” 

Hector is very good at treating patients in need of his help. But he can’t do much for those who are simply dissatisfied with life, and that is beginning to depress him. When a patient tells him he looks in need of a vacation, Hector takes a trip around the world to learn what makes people happy—and sad. As he travels from Paris to China to Africa to the United States, he lists his observations about the people he meets. Is there a secret to happiness, and will Hector find it? 

Combining the winsome appeal of The Little Prince with the inspiring philosophy of The Alchemist, Hector’s journey ventures around the globe and into the human soul. Lelord’s writing inspires us to consider life’s great questions. Uplifting, empowering, and optimistic, this is a fable for our times and all time.

My Opinion:

This is the kind of book that makes you think about your life. What am I doing to be happy or the person who I really want to be? What makes me happy?

Sometimes we don’t feel happy because of trivial things like I don’t have this or that, but there’s people in worst situations than ours, some of which we would never face, and they still can find reasons to keep smiling.

This book also made me think about myself and my anxiety disorder and depression. Perhaps I could find a reason to smile each day, or keep calm by changing my mind about things that make me feel worried. It is very hard but not imposible. So let’s try.

Hector had a list of lessons about happiness and I selected some of them to keep it to myself, here they are:


Lesson no. 1: Making comparisons can spoil your happiness.

Lesson no. 2: Happiness always comes when leat expected.

Lesson no. 6: Happiness is a long walk in the mountains.

Lesson no. 8: Happiness is being with the people you love.

Lesson no. 10: Happiness is doing a job you love.

Lesson no. 13: Happiness is feeling useful to others.

Lesson no. 14: Happiness comes when you truly feel alive.


I, in generally enjoyed this book, but I found it a little bit slow at some points and repetitive. However I recommend it to you all if you want to have a lesson about happiness.

I’ll give it a 3/5 ★

