Goodreads Synopsis:

In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time…

Delia’s new house isn’t just a house. Long ago, it was the Piven Institute for the Care and Correction of Troubled Females—an insane asylum nicknamed “Hysteria Hall.” However, many of the inmates were not insane, just defiant and strong willed. Kind of like Delia herself.

But the house still wants to keep “troubled” girls locked away. So, in the most horrifying way, Delia gets trapped.

And that’s when she learns that the house is also haunted.

Ghost girls wander the halls in their old-fashioned nightgowns. A handsome ghost boy named Theo roams the grounds. Delia finds that all the spirits are unsettled and full of dark secrets. The house, as well, harbors shocking truths within its walls—truths that only Delia can uncover, and that may set her free.

But she’ll need to act quickly, before the house’s power overtakes everything she loves.

My Opinion:

Well, when I saw the tittle of this book, inmediatly I thought I had to read it. When I started reading it I was so thrilled and excited, but at some point, to me the book started being very slow and meaningless. The main Character, Delia, was almost unbereable for me till the end. She was so, let’s say, inmature, impulsive, childish.

Despite all the negative thoughts I had about the book, I decided not to quit. The plot is captivating, I don’t doubt it, but it was Delia that left me with this feeling of disappointment.

Is not scary as some of you may think when you first look at the cover, but it occurs to be a little bit disturbing and of course is charged with paranormal content, like ghostly girls and an evil black smoke that pushes girls through windows making them die in an instant.

In general I have to say it wasn’t at all so bad, but it could’ve been better.

Here are some quotes I found very profound about life:

“There are different ways of wanting something. I suppose what I mean is that you have to belive you can do it”.

“The living don’t know what they have. They waste it”.

“Maybe the absence of torment was its own kind of peace”.

“In the end, we must always be the judges of our own consciences”.

Rate: 3/5 ★

f71de-img_20161119_114746

